Spots Betting

A-League Premier Football

The A-League is the highest level of professional league football that can be obtained in Australia. Formed in 2004, the league consists of 10 teams, with an annual championship being held between October and May. During a regular Premier season 27 matches are played to determine which six teams will go on to play in the final season known as the Championship, which culminates in a Grand Final round.

With over 30 matches being played during an A-League season, there are plenty of opportunities to place wagers at the best betting sites.

Placing Wagers on A-League

Professional league football has become one of the most popular sports for betting, and wagers can be placed on virtually every aspect of the game. The most popular wagers are generally the simplest, and betting on the outcome of a given match remains one of the most attractive to date. Another popular wager is a prediction of the correct final score, and this type of wager generally sees very alluring odds as it can rather difficult to predict. However, if you are an A-League ultimate fan, you should be well-versed in the teams and their match behaviour, which can make this type of wager easier to predict.

Wagers can also be placed on specific players, such as which athlete will be the first to score a successful goal, or even which players will get yellow or red carded during the course of the game. In-match occurrences also provide plenty of betting opportunities, such as whether both teams will manage a goal during the match, how many corners will be granted to a team, and even how many penalty kicks may be awarded.

During an A-League season, wagers can placed on individual matches, the outcome of the regular Premier season, as well as who the outright winner of the Championship will be.

Football 101

Football is played by approximately 250,000,000 players in over 200 countries and is the world’s most popular sport. On a professional level, matches are played between two teams of 11 players each on a rectangular field with a goal net on opposite ends of the field. The objective is to attempt to score as many goals as possible during a match, which is made difficult by the opposition defence, as well as the goalie that fiercely defends his territory.

The rules and regulations of the A-League do not differ from any other professional football league, and is governed by Football Federation Australia (FFA).

History of the A-League

Prior to the formation of the A-League, many national all-round tournaments existed in various forms, of which the National Soccer League (NSL) was the most well-known. After the country’s qualification for the 1974 FIFA World Cup, it was decided that a professional league system should be put in place, and 14 teams were eventually decided upon to participate in the NSL’s first season in 1977.

The NSL enjoyed wide-spread popularity during the 1980s and 1990s, but fell into financial decline due to successful players being exported to top leagues in other countries. It was finally decided that the league would be disbanded in 2004, after which a new league would be formed. This led to the formation of the A-League which was established in November 2004, with the league’s inaugural season kicking off in August 2005.